2015-2016 MTNA NATIONAL COMPETITIONS GEORGIA REPRESENTATIVES

MTNA COMPETITIONS: NATIONAL LEVEL

The 2015-2016 MTNA Performance Competitions were held April 2-4, 2016 in San Antonio, TX.

PIANO PERFORMANCE

JUNIOR CATEGORY

First Place Yannie Tan Alexander Kobrin

STRING PERFORMANCE

SENIOR CATEGORY

Second Place Goeun Sim Sergiu Schwartz

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Second Place Zhihao Wu Hans Jensen

MTNA COMPETITIONS: SOUTHERN DIVISION LEVEL

The 2015-2016 MTNA Southern Division Performance Competitions were held January 15-18, 2016 in Tampa, FL.

CHAMBER MUSIC STRINGS

Alternate Schwob String Quartet Boris Abramov

Eric Tsai, Violin Leah Bonas, Violin Mario Rivera, Viola Max Frank, Cello

CHAMBER MUSIC WINDS

Winner Nach Connie Frigo

Caroline Halleck, Alto Saxophone Hassan High, Tenor Saxophone Rick Firestone, Soprano Saxophone Charlie Young, Baritone Saxophone

BRASS PERFORMANCE

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Honorable Mention Andrew Sehmann Jean Martin-Williams

PIANO PERFORMANCE

JUNIOR CATEGORY

Winner Yannie Tan Alexander Kobrin

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Zhirui Zhou Alexander Kobrin

STRING PERFORMANCE

JUNIOR CATEGORY

Honorable Mention Rebekah Willard Sonja Foster

SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner Goeun Sim Sergiu Schwartz

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Zhihao Wu Hans Jensen

VOCAL PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY

Alternate LarKarra Betha Michelle DeBruyn

WOODWIND PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner Traian Sturza Ronald Wirt

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Alternate Victor Hernandez Andree Martin

MTNA COMPETITIONS: STATE LEVEL

The 2015-2016 MTNA State Performance Competitions were held on October 30-November 1 at Clayton State University under the supervision of Carol Payne, VP for MTNA Competitions. There were 94 total entrants participating. There were 91 solo entrants and 3 chamber ensembles in the Performance Competitions. There were 4 entrants in the composition category. State Coordinators were Julie Smith, Junior Coordinator, David George, Senior Coordinator, Debra Hughes, Young Artist and Chamber Music Coordinator. Soohyun Yun was the State Composition Coordinator. The results of the Competitions are as follows:

CHAMBER MUSIC STRINGS

Winner Schwob String Quartet Boris Abramov

Eric Tsai, Violin Leah Bonas, Violin Mario Rivera, Viola Max Frank, Cello

Alternate Magnolia Quartet Larisa Elisha

William Brotman, Violin Benjamin Cork, Violin Dominik Fields, Viola Nayeon Kim, Cello

CHAMBER MUSIC WINDS

Representative Nach Connie Frigo

Caroline Halleck, Alto Saxophone

Hassan High, Tenor Saxophone Rick Firestone, Soprano Saxophone Charlie Young, Baritone Saxophone

COMPOSITION

SENIOR CATEGORY

Representative Andrew Dixon David Peoples

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Orion Palmer Martin Jones
Honorable Mention Frazier Smith Phillip Hayner
Honorable Mention Robert Thomlinson Phillip Hayner

BRASS PERFORMANCE

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Representative Andrew Sehmann Jean Martin-Williams

PIANO PERFORMANCE JUNIOR CATEGORY

Winner Yannie Tan Alexander Kobrin
Alternate Carey Byron Elena Cholakova
Honorable Mention Helen Bryant Alexander Wasserman

Honorable Mention Charles Li Clara Park
Honorable Mention Charlie Liu Lena Zuiff

SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner Laura Street Nancy Elton

Alternate Benjamin Chin Alexander Wasserman
Honorable Mention Yuy Hsiang Shu-Chuan Hsiang
Hanorable Mention Nathan Wu

Honorable Mention Nathan Wu Robert Henry
Honorable Mention Hideto Mori Edith Schiff

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Zhirui Zhou Alexander Kobrin Alternate Derek Vann Sergio Gallo Honorable Mention Alexander Kobrin Mengyao Sun Read Gainsford Honorable Mention Manuel Vizurraga Honorable Mention Mariana Bengoa Roldán Sergio Gallo Honorable Mention Shanshan Xie Alexander Kobrin

STRING PERFORMANCE JUNIOR CATEGORY

Winner Rebekah Willard Sonja Foster
Alternate Richard Cho Sergiu Schwartz
Honorable Mention Evan Nicholson Martin Gueorguiev
Honorable Mention Maximillian Lou Martin Gueorguiev
Honorable Mention Zoe Lo Sonja Foster

Honorable Mention Richard Lee Levon Ambartsumian

SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner Goeun Sim Sergiu Schwartz
Alternate Charissa Leung Amy Schwartz Moretti

Honorable Mention JooYoung Kang Sonja Foster Honorable Mention Phoebe Liu Sonja Foster

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Zhihao Wu Hans Jensen
Alternate Sophie Wang Sergiu Schwartz
Honorable Mention Moises Cunha Levon Ambartsumian
Honorable Mention Weiru Sheng Sergiu Schwartz

VOCAL PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner LarKarra Betha Michelle DeBruyn
Alternate Sarah Clements Dian Lawler-Johnson
Honorable Mention Katherine Tiemeyer Rebekah Healan

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Jeanette Luna Dian Lawler-Johnson
Alternate Berrell Slaughter Benjamin Schoening
Honorable Mention Nathaniel Thomas Michelle DeBruyn

WOODWIND PERFORMANCE SENIOR CATEGORY

Winner Traian Sturza Ronald Wirt Alternate Alexander Smith Sara Emery

YOUNG ARTIST CATEGORY

Winner Victor Hernandez Andree Martin Alternate Kristen Urbanski Susan Tomkiewicz Honorable Mention Eder Rivera Acosta Susan Tomkiewicz Honorable Mention Hassan High Connie Frigo Honorable Mention **Jared Cummings** Joseph Girard Caroline Halleck Connie Frigo Honorable Mention